Reviews

9.4
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.4
Property Location
9.1
Facilities
9.5
Staff
9.6
Value
8.8

Reviews

    tr

    Review Score

    8.8
    May 24, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mona Stella Mariano
    ph

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 17, 2018

    Will definitely recommend

    The staff was super accomodating. Location is walking distance to restaurants, shopping areas, train stations and several sights.
    Steve
    gb

    Review Score

    9.6
    November 9, 2017

    Great hotel and helpful staff

    Room was a tad on the small side but no more so than many other Japanese hotels.
    The staff were so friendly and helpful and the small room was rammed full of useful equipment - ideal if you want to cater your own breakfasts/lunches. Location was close enough to walk to shops, restaurants and touristic temples and shrines.
    Saskia M
    de

    Review Score

    10
    June 21, 2018

    Great little private Stay.

    You could hear people walking upstairs, if they trample. Earthquake on the last morning, not their fault haha
    I pretty much loved everything. Everything was super clean, we had a lot of towels and they even provided pyjamas! Most places only have like razors, shampoo cotton buds and maybe a shower cap or a nail file. They had these awesome body towels for the shower and I loved the cosmetics(makeup remover, toner and lotion). It was high quality stuff, which I also then bought at the airport! The beds were comfortable and clean. They had a washer/dryer in the room and a fully equipped kitchen. The place was more like a serviced apartment which is really nice. The location is also great, you can walk to nearly every tourist attraction. And they also provide you with a little map which shows you where the nearest attractions are. Very good restaurants are in walking distance( max 10min). The subway is also just a 3 min walk away. I strongly recommend this place to anybody wanting to stay in Kyoto!
    Anna
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 11, 2018

    Anticipated every guest need

    Some street noise but not a big issue
    Thoughtful! Everything provided for. Amenities good, storage for luggage, complete kitchen ( even though we didn’t use). Laundry in room! Could not be happier.
    sarah
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    June 1, 2018

    Really great property with amazing staff

    The beds and pillows are really hard. That made it difficult to sleep.
    This property has the nicest staff you could imagine. Always friendly and happy to help in any way. They gave me great recommendations for restaurants. The unit was spacious and had everything needed for cooking. My luggage was lost and I was also really happy to have PJs and all of the bathroom stuff I needed provided - even face lotion. Everything was great quality. Lastly, the location couldn't be better - close to public transport and also walkable to a lot of sites.
    Volker Manz
    de

    Review Score

    10
    May 29, 2018

    Come back again

    Street noise when sleeping with open window
    Everything was perfect. Amneties in bathroom, bed, interior, aize. Recommended highly.
    Brucio1958
    au

    Review Score

    8.3
    May 15, 2018

    Well located, very clean and modern.

    It's on a busier street so some road noise.
    Good location near transport and Gion. Extremely clean and functional. Very modern.
    grant
    nz

    Review Score

    10
    April 30, 2018

    Excellent place in an excellent location

    The room was clean and well setup, the staff couldn't be helpful enough and the whole place was excellently run
    Alejandra
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    April 25, 2018
    Perfect apartment in a really good location.
    Jenny
    ph

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 23, 2018

    I would book here again and would recommend it to friends.

    Nothing comes to mind.
    This was a lovely hotel. The room was so comfortable with everything we could possibly need, even a washing machine/dryer and small kitchenette. It was so nice "coming home" to it after a full day of touring. The reception closes at 9 pm but we had key card access so we could come and go whenever we pleased. Staff were always eager to help. It's located on a quiet area but just a short walk away from the nearest tube station. It's not located in the middle of everything but nonetheless just a 15-minute walk or so from lovely Gion and lively Sanjo.
    Karen
    au

    Review Score

    10
    April 20, 2018

    A perfect place to stay in Kyoto - especially for an extended stay

    The room was fantastic, it had everything we needed and more. The location was close to everything and the staff could not have been more helpful. They provided maps and detailed information on where to go and what to see and also made some bookings over the phone for us (as we don't speak Japanese). We stayed for 5 nights and it was perfect. With the kitchen and laundry facilities we were able to eat in sometimes and do some laundry in the comfort of our own room. They also provide umbrellas and were happy to assist with any request we had. With 3 weeks in Japan and a lot of moving around, this was just what we needed!
    Not Discerning
    my

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 12, 2018

    GION HANNA STAY is like a home away from home!

    NOTHING!
    There is nothing NOT to like about GION HANNA STAY, from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Yuzuki and Kenji. The twin room we had, though small, was space-efficient . It had two twin beds that were able to sleep 3 adults comfortably. Despite that, the hotel still provided us with a futon, which we didn't have to use. The kitchen was well-equipped; there was a rice cooker, microwave, small toaster oven, electric stove, and enough utensils. Somewhere in the room was also a washing machine. The bathroom was narrow but it was so well designed, that we didn't feel crammed in. It was well stocked with new towels, bathrobes, toiletries including Shiseido shampoo & conditioner, facial cleansers & moisturizers. There were ample plug points and even a writing desk, cleverly incorporated into the space. Location-wise .... can't complain either. We took a limousine bus from KIX to Kyoto and we were dropped off at the Sanjo Keihan station, which is only a 5-min walk to the hotel. Can't get any better than this. The hotel is also within walking distance to Ponto-Cho and the city. There were many restaurants nearby, even an authentic pizzeria and French bakery. This is definitely a keeper! .
    Stephen
    nz

    Review Score

    9.2
    April 4, 2018

    Great staff, location and facilities!

    The rooms are a little small.
    The staff was very helpful and nice and the room had all the amenities you could ask for. The location was close to the action, but far enough away that it was quiet. The calligraphy course in the morning was a memorable bonus!
    Murray Sneesby
    au

    Review Score

    10
    March 25, 2018

    Excellent Kyoto experience.

    Great location and clean and comfortable and staff were absolutely wonderful. Kenji and Yusiki were so friendly, efficient and helpful. Thankyou.
    We loved our stay in Kyoto and Gion Hanna Stay were awesome.
    Murray Sneesby
    au

    Review Score

    10
    March 23, 2018

    Great Gion value.

    Nothing to complain of at all.
    Perfect location and very clean and comfortable. Yuziki-san was incredibly polite and helpful as we're other staff.
    Taco
    jp

    Review Score

    8.8
    October 9, 2017

    Pricey but great location and staff

    A little expensive for one night twin room
    Customer service was excellent!
    Wonhee
    kr

    Review Score

    10
    September 14, 2017
    It was such a great hotel. Every hotel staffs were very nice people and kind. Location was wonderful. Near by city and every traffic stations. The room was so comfortable and shower room was so good and modern. There are different Atmosphere which are modern and traditional. I think this hotel is suit for couple and family. I cooked in my room and every kitchen utensils were furnished and good quality as home. Everywhere was so cleaned. I will recommend to my friends who will trip in Kyoto. I definitely come back next time.