Reviews

9.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
10
Comfort
9.6
Property location
9.0
Facilities
9.8
Staff
9.7
Value
8.8

Reviews

    Brucio1958
    au

    Review score

    8.3
    15 May 2018

    Well located, very clean and modern.

    It's on a busier street so some road noise.
    Good location near transport and Gion. Extremely clean and functional. Very modern.
    grant
    nz

    Review score

    10
    30 April 2018

    Excellent place in an excellent location

    The room was clean and well setup, the staff couldn't be helpful enough and the whole place was excellently run
    Alejandra
    gb

    Review score

    10
    25 April 2018
    Perfect apartment in a really good location.
    Jenny
    ph

    Review score

    9.6
    23 April 2018

    I would book here again and would recommend it to friends.

    Nothing comes to mind.
    This was a lovely hotel. The room was so comfortable with everything we could possibly need, even a washing machine/dryer and small kitchenette. It was so nice "coming home" to it after a full day of touring. The reception closes at 9 pm but we had key card access so we could come and go whenever we pleased. Staff were always eager to help. It's located on a quiet area but just a short walk away from the nearest tube station. It's not located in the middle of everything but nonetheless just a 15-minute walk or so from lovely Gion and lively Sanjo.
    Karen
    au

    Review score

    10
    20 April 2018

    A perfect place to stay in Kyoto - especially for an extended stay

    The room was fantastic, it had everything we needed and more. The location was close to everything and the staff could not have been more helpful. They provided maps and detailed information on where to go and what to see and also made some bookings over the phone for us (as we don't speak Japanese). We stayed for 5 nights and it was perfect. With the kitchen and laundry facilities we were able to eat in sometimes and do some laundry in the comfort of our own room. They also provide umbrellas and were happy to assist with any request we had. With 3 weeks in Japan and a lot of moving around, this was just what we needed!
    Not Discerning
    my

    Review score

    9.6
    12 April 2018

    GION HANNA STAY is like a home away from home!

    NOTHING!
    There is nothing NOT to like about GION HANNA STAY, from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Yuzuki and Kenji. The twin room we had, though small, was space-efficient . It had two twin beds that were able to sleep 3 adults comfortably. Despite that, the hotel still provided us with a futon, which we didn't have to use. The kitchen was well-equipped; there was a rice cooker, microwave, small toaster oven, electric stove, and enough utensils. Somewhere in the room was also a washing machine. The bathroom was narrow but it was so well designed, that we didn't feel crammed in. It was well stocked with new towels, bathrobes, toiletries including Shiseido shampoo & conditioner, facial cleansers & moisturizers. There were ample plug points and even a writing desk, cleverly incorporated into the space. Location-wise .... can't complain either. We took a limousine bus from KIX to Kyoto and we were dropped off at the Sanjo Keihan station, which is only a 5-min walk to the hotel. Can't get any better than this. The hotel is also within walking distance to Ponto-Cho and the city. There were many restaurants nearby, even an authentic pizzeria and French bakery. This is definitely a keeper! .
    Stephen
    nz

    Review score

    9.2
    4 April 2018

    Great staff, location and facilities!

    The rooms are a little small.
    The staff was very helpful and nice and the room had all the amenities you could ask for. The location was close to the action, but far enough away that it was quiet. The calligraphy course in the morning was a memorable bonus!
    Murray Sneesby
    au

    Review score

    10
    25 March 2018

    Excellent Kyoto experience.

    Great location and clean and comfortable and staff were absolutely wonderful. Kenji and Yusiki were so friendly, efficient and helpful. Thankyou.
    We loved our stay in Kyoto and Gion Hanna Stay were awesome.
    Murray Sneesby
    au

    Review score

    10
    23 March 2018

    Great Gion value.

    Nothing to complain of at all.
    Perfect location and very clean and comfortable. Yuziki-san was incredibly polite and helpful as we're other staff.
    Taco
    jp

    Review score

    8.8
    9 October 2017

    Pricey but great location and staff

    A little expensive for one night twin room
    Customer service was excellent!
    Wonhee
    kr

    Review score

    10
    14 September 2017
    It was such a great hotel. Every hotel staffs were very nice people and kind. Location was wonderful. Near by city and every traffic stations. The room was so comfortable and shower room was so good and modern. There are different Atmosphere which are modern and traditional. I think this hotel is suit for couple and family. I cooked in my room and every kitchen utensils were furnished and good quality as home. Everywhere was so cleaned. I will recommend to my friends who will trip in Kyoto. I definitely come back next time.
    Mona Stella Mariano
    ph

    Review score

    9.6
    17 April 2018

    Will definitely recommend

    The staff was super accomodating. Location is walking distance to restaurants, shopping areas, train stations and several sights.
    Steve
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    9 November 2017

    Great hotel and helpful staff

    Room was a tad on the small side but no more so than many other Japanese hotels.
    The staff were so friendly and helpful and the small room was rammed full of useful equipment - ideal if you want to cater your own breakfasts/lunches. Location was close enough to walk to shops, restaurants and touristic temples and shrines.